The West Coburg Football club was founded in 1927 and at that stage played in VFA Sub-surburban Association, before many years later joining the EDFL (Essendon District Football League).

Throughout its history, West Coburg has won 15 senior premierships in 3 different divisions, with the first coming in 1965 and the latest coming in 2014. The junior club has won countless premierships as well, with continuing success today.

A number of former and current AFL/VFL players started their football lives at West Coburg. David Dench played 275 for North Melbourne between 1969 and 1984, during this time he also captained the Kangaroos to their 1977 premiership, won 4 Syd Barker Medals and represented Victoria in State of Origin 4 times.

There are currently two players in the AFL who started at West Coburg. 2017 and 2019 Richmond premiership player Brandon Ellis (now at Gold Coast) and Adam Saad now at Carlton.

There is also currently one AFLW player who started at West Coburg, which is Georgia Patrikios of St Kilda.